loader image

IWC SCHAFFHAUSEN

IWC SCHAFFHAUSEN

In 1868, the American watchmaker and entrepreneur Florentine Ariosto Jones travelled from Boston to Switzerland and founded the ‘International Watch Company’ in Schaffhausen. His visionary dream was to combine advanced American manufacturing methods with the craftsmanship of Swiss watchmakers to make the best pocket watches of his time. In doing so, he not only laid the foundation for IWC’s unique engineering approach but also established the centralised production of mechanical watches in Switzerland.

Over its 150 year history, IWC Schaffhausen has developed a reputation for creating functional complications, especially chronographs and calendars, which are ingenious, robust, and easy for customers to use. A pioneer in the use of titanium and ceramics, IWC today specialises in highly engineered technical watch cases manufactured from advanced materials, such as titaniumaluminide and Ceratanium™. Preferring the principle of “form follows function” over decoration, the Swiss watch manufacturer’s timeless creations embody their owners’ dreams and ambitions as they journey through life.

IWC sources materials responsibly and takes action to minimise its impact on the environment, creating intrinsically sustainable timepieces that are built to last for generations. The company prides itself in training its own future watchmakers and engineers, as well as offering an excellent working environment for all employees. IWC also partners with organisations that work globally to support children and young people.

The Manufakturzentrum

It is the latest chapter in a story that started 150 years ago. In August 2018, IWC officially opened the doors to the new Manufakturzentrum, a 13,500 square meter, state-of-the-art building constructed to house case and movement production as well as movement assembly, giving the company room to further expand in-house expertise and prepare for a future of technical innovation.

As a consequence, the brand is renewing its legendary promise of quality “Probus Scafusia” – the Latin motto, which translates as “Solid Craftsmanship from Schaffhausen”. The new ‘My IWC’ programme enables you to extend your International Limited Warranty from two to eight years. Register therefore your watch on myiwc.iwc.com.

IWC Schaffhausen Family

Portugieser collection 2020

001

Portugieser

In the late 1930s, two Portuguese businessmen ordered wristwatches with the precision of marine chronometers from the International Watch Co. The first “large wristwatch” with a pocket watch calibre was very much ahead of its time. In 1993, this model celebrated its comeback, and was now known as the Portugieser. The Portugieser line established the trend towards the larger wristwatches so popular in the watch industry today, and due to its complex watchmaking technology is an icon in the world of haute horlogerie. Watch connoisseurs appreciate the imposing size of these timepieces as well as the clearly organized dial with its characteristic railway-track-style chapter ring and Arabic numerals. The Portugieser line has always been defined by IWC-manufactured movements and sophisticated complications. The minute repeater, rattrapante or split-seconds hand and in-house movements with a 7- or 8-day power reserve certainly impressed upon their respective debuts. The most exclusive and complicated mechanical watch ever made by IWC is the Portugieser Sidérale Scafusia. This model marks the most outstanding moment so far in the history of the Portugieser family.

002

Pilot’s Watches

IWC unveiled the first Special Pilot’s Watch in 1936. The Big Pilot’s Watch followed 4 years later and was the ultimate deck watch. In 1948, the Schaffhausen watch manufacturer supplied the Mark 11 to British Royal Air Force, where it remained in service for almost 40 years. The cockpit-instrument look of these three iconic watches inspires the design of classic pilot’s watches to this day. The IWC Pilot’s Watch family is divided up into five distinct lines. The classic Pilot’s Watches are instantly recognizable thanks to their black-and-white dials and the triangular index at “12 o’clock”. The shimmering metallic dial on each Spitfire watch is reminiscent of the fuselage of their legendary namesake. Watches in the TOP GUN collection feature a classic dial and a black ceramic case with push-buttons and a crown made from titanium, while the TOP GUN Miramar line sports authentic military-style design cues. The “Antoine de Saint Exupéry” and “Le Petit Prince” special editions pay tribute to the life and work of the French author and pilot.

Top Gun

Launched in 2012, the TOP GUN collection with its black ceramic cases has established itself as an independent line in the IWC Pilot’s Watch family.

Spitfire

The Pilot’s Watch Spitfire collection has been paying tribute to the elegance and cutting-edge technology of the legendary fighter plane since 2003. It is now continuing its success story with an optimized design, new complications and in-house calibres.

003

Portofino

In 1984, IWC unveiled the simple “pocket-watch-style wristwatch”, which was inspired by the Lépine pocket watch and went by the name “Portofino” and became one of the Schaffhausen-based manufacturer’s most successful models. The former fishing village of Portofino has for decades been the embodiment of the relaxed lifestyle in southern Europe and the carefree Mediterranean mentality. The classically elegant Portofino is a perfect reflection of this way of life. The watch family famed for its refined simplicity now includes sophisticated timepieces with ingeniously designed complications and in-house movements and features models with an 8-day power reserve, large date display or monopusher. With their classic dials, Roman numerals and feuille hands, Portofino watches are an expression of understatement and good taste. The 37-millimetre watches make the Portofino line from IWC Schaffhausen equally attractive to women and men who prefer a slightly smaller and more luxurious timepiece. Diamond¬set models combine understated design with a touch of luxury.

004

Da Vinci

In 1969, IWC unveiled the Da Vinci – the first wristwatch with a quartz movement that IWC played a role in the development of. The hexagonal gold case and long indices gave the watch a technical yet elegant look. In 1985, IWC scaled the peak of haute horlogerie with the Da Vinci Perpetual Calendar, developed by then chief designer Kurt Klaus. The perpetual calendar requires almost no manual corrections until the year 2499 and can be set using just the crown. The Schaffhausen watchmakers provided further watchmaking highlights with the first in-house chronograph movement developed in Schaffhausen and a perpetual calendar with large date and month displays. The designers have returned to a round shape for the current collection. The double-framed bezel with its visible seam between the two frames and the articulated strap horns with curved lugs recall the iconic design code of the 1985 models. A smaller case diameter, precious stones and close-fitting straps and bracelets also make this watch family attractive to women

Jubilee Collection

Revisiting old icons and presenting the new: The IWC jubilee collection unifies through a timeless design code to form a single striking collection of timepieces.

Da Vinci

For almost 50 years, the Da Vinci collection has united the inventiveness and hunger for development of IWC’s engineers with a classic aesthetic. In the anniversary year, the family welcomes five new members.

005

Aquatimer

In 1967, the growing popularity of scuba diving prompted the company to introduce the first Aquatimer. It was pressure-resistant to 20 bar and equipped with an internal rotating bezel that displayed dive time. In 1982 came the first diver’s watch that was pressure-resistant to 200 bar, the Ocean 2000, which caused quite a stir. The technical ingenuity of IWC’s engineers inspired them to develop the GST Deep One, which featured a mechanical depth gauge, in 1999. In 2009, IWC brought a completely revised Aquatimer collection with watches sporting a chunky external rotating bezel onto the market. Watches in the current collection are equipped with the innovative external/internal rotating bezel, making them even more functional. This mechanism combines the advantages of an internal rotating bezel with the ease of use of an external rotating bezel that, thanks to the SafeDive system, can be moved easily by a diver wearing gloves or with cold fingers. With even more in-house calibres as well as the digital perpetual calendar, mechanical depth gauge and sensational pressure-resistance to 200 bar, the watch family has also advanced to the highest stages of development in haute horlogerie.

006

Ingenieur

The first Ingenieur model wowed watch connoisseurs with its bidirectional Pellaton winding system, which was much more efficient than conventional movements. It also featured protection against magnetic fields, which remains a key feature of Ingenieur models to this day. In the early 1970s, Gérald Genta designed the legendary Ingenieur SL, adopting a distinctly modernist, technical approach. The Ingenieur collection, which was completely redesigned in 2013, is inspired by the world of FORMULA ONE. The materials used – titanium aluminide, carbon, ceramic and titanium – are frequently found in this motor sport. Technical highlights in this watch family include the patented constant-force tourbillon, the quick-action switch and large double-digit displays for both the date and month. The new Ingenieur models from 2017 once again clearly draw on the design code of the 1950s and 1960s, as evinced by the simple round case and a dial featuring striking hands and indices with luminescent elements.

100 Jahre – 100 Tickets

Mitmachen und eine exklusive Spinnler + Schweizer
Jubiläumsuhr von Oris gewinnen.

IWC SCHAFFHAUSEN

IWC SCHAFFHAUSEN

1868 gründete Florentine Ariosto Jones aus Boston die „International Watch Company“ in Schaffhausen. Der amerikanische Uhrmacher kombinierte moderne Produktionsmethoden aus seiner Heimat mit Schweizer Handwerkskunst, um hochwertige Taschenuhren für das Luxussegment herzustellen. Damit schuf er 27-jährig nicht nur den typischen Engineering-Ansatz von IWC, sondern er etablierte auch die zentralisierte Fertigung von mechanischen Uhren in der Schweiz.

In den vergangenen über 150 Jahren hat sich IWC mit funktionalen und benutzerfreundlichen Komplikationen wie Chronographen und Kalendern weltweit einen Namen gemacht. Die Manufaktur war ein Pionier in der Verarbeitung von Titan und Keramik und ist heute auf robuste Uhrengehäuse aus technischen Materialien wie Titanaluminid oder Ceratanium® spezialisiert. Die nach dem Prinzip „Form folgt Funktion“ gestalteten, zeitlos schönen Kreationen der Schaffhauser Manufaktur verkörpern die Träume und Ambitionen ihrer Besitzer auf deren Reise durchs Leben.

Uhren aus Schaffhausen sind gebaut, um Generationen zu überdauern. Die Manufaktur legt Wert auf Transparenz, beschafft Rohstoffe verantwortungsvoll und verkleinert die Auswirkungen des Geschäfts auf die Umwelt. Gemeinsam mit Partnern setzt sich IWC zudem weltweit für benachteiligte Kinder und Jugendliche ein.

Die Manufaktur

Es ist das jüngste Kapitel einer Geschichte, die vor 150 Jahren begann. Im August 2018 öffnete IWC offiziell die Türen zu seinem neuen Manufakturzentrum, einem hochmodernen Gebäude mit einer Fläche von 13.500 m², das für die Gehäuse- und Uhrwerkproduktion sowie für die Uhrwerkmontage erbaut wurde und so dem Unternehmen Raum bietet, um seine hauseigene Expertise weiter auszubauen und sich auf eine Zukunft technischer Innovationen vorzubereiten. 

Als Folge davon erneuert die Marke Ihr legendäres Qualitätsversprechen „Probus Scafusia“ – das lateinische Motto, das so viel wie „Bewährtes aus Schaffhausen“ bedeutet. Das neue My IWC-Programm ermöglicht es Ihnen, die internationale Garantie für Ihre IWC-Uhr von zwei auf acht Jahre zu verlängern. Registrieren Sie dazu Ihre Uhr auf myiwc.iwc.com.

IWC Schaffhausen Familien

Portugieser Kollektion 2020

001

Portugieser

Ende der 1930er-Jahre gaben zwei portugiesische Kaufleute Armbanduhren mit der Ganggenauigkeit von Marinechronometern bei IWC in Auftrag. Die erste «grosse Armbanduhr» mit Taschenuhrkaliber war ihrer Zeit weit voraus. 1993 feierte die Uhrenfamilie unter dem Namen «Portugieser» ein Comeback. Die Portugieser-Linie hat das heute in der Uhrenbranche sehr beliebte Grossformat für Armbanduhren etabliert und ist aufgrund ihrer komplizierten Uhrentechnik ein Leuchtturm der Haute Horlogerie. Uhrenkenner schätzen das die markante Grösse der Uhren ebenso wie das reduzierte Zifferblatt mit der charakteristischen Eisenbahnminuterie und den arabischen Ziffern. IWC-Manufakturwerke und anspruchsvolle Komplikationen prägen die Geschichte und Gegenwart der Uhrenfamilie. So sorgten die Minutenrepetition, der Rattrapante-Zeiger und das 7-bzw. 8-Tage-Manufakturwerk für entzückte Gesichter bei Erstpräsentationen. Die exklusivste und komplizierteste mechanische Uhr, die IWC je gebaut hat, ist die Portugieser Sidérale Scafusia. Sie markiert einen vorläufigen Höhepunkt der Portugieser-Familie.

002

Pilot’s Watches

1936 präsentierte IWC die erste Spezialuhr für Flieger. Vier Jahre später folgte die Grosse Fliegeruhr, die zum Inbegriff der Beobachtungsuhr wurde. 1948 lieferte die Schaffhauser Uhrenmanufaktur die Mark 11 an die Royal Air Force, wo sie fast vierzig Jahre erfolgreich im Einsatz war. Bis heute prägt der Instrumentenlook dieser drei Uhrenikonen das Erscheinungsbild klassischer Fliegeruhren. Die Pilot’s von IWC Schaffhausen werden in fünf Teilkollektionen unterschieden. Die klassischen Fliegeruhren sind an den schwarz-weissen Zifferblättern und dem Markierungsdreieck bei 12 Uhr zu erkennen. Die metallisch glänzenden Zifferblätter der Spitfire-Uhren erinnern an den Rumpf des legendären Flugzeugs. Die TOP GUN-Kollektion begeistert Uhrenliebhaber mit einem klassischen Zifferblatt im schwarzen Keramikgehäuse sowie mit Kronen und Drückern aus Titan. Davon gibt es die Designvariationen Miramar im authentischen Militarydesign. Die Sondereditionen «Antoine de Saint-Exupéry» und «Le Petit Prince» zollen dem Leben und Werk des französischen Schriftstellers und Piloten Tribut.

Top Gun

Seit 2012 etabliert sich die TOP GUN-Kollektion im schwarzen Keramikgehäuse als eigenständige Uhrenlinie innerhalb der Fliegeruhren.

Spitfire

Die Fliegeruhrenlinie Spitfire fühlt sich seit 2003 der Eleganz und überragenden Technik der legendären Propellermaschine verpflichtet. Mit optimiertem Design, neuen Komplikationen und hauseigenen Manufakturkalibern setzt sie ihren Erfolgskurs fort.

003

Portofino

1984 präsentierte IWC eine schlichte „Armbandtaschenuhr“, die auf der Basis einer Lépine-Taschenuhr entwickelt wurde und unter dem Namen „Portofino“ zu einer der erfolgreichsten Uhrenfamilien der Schaffhauser Manufaktur avancierte. Das einstige Fischerdorf Portofino gilt seit Jahrzehnten als Inbegriff für den südländischen Lebensstil und mediterrane Leichtigkeit. Die klassisch-elegante Portofino-Uhrenfamilie spiegelte diesen Lifestyle perfekt wider. Die schlichte Uhrenlinie umfasst inzwischen auch anspruchsvolle Zeitmesser mit raffinierten Komplikationen und Manufakturwerken, ob mit 8-Tage-Handaufzug, Grossdatum oder Monopusher. Dank ihres klassischen Zifferblatts, der römischen Ziffern und Feuille-Zeiger gilt die Portofino als Ausdruck für Understatement und guten Geschmack. Die 37 Millimeter Uhren machen die Portofino-Linie für Damen und Herren, die ihren Zeitmesser gern ein wenig kleiner und luxuriöser tragen, gleichermassen attraktiv. Diamantgeschmückte Modelle kombinieren das schlichte Design mit einer luxuriösen Note.

004

Da Vinci

1969 präsentierte IWC die Da Vinci – die erste Armbanduhr mit einem Quarzwerk, an dessen Entwicklung die Schaffhauser Manufaktur beteiligt war. Das sechseckige Goldgehäuse und die langen Indizes verliehen der Uhr eine technisch-elegante Optik. 1985 stiess IWC mit der vom damaligen Chefkonstrukteur Kurt Klaus entwickelten Da Vinci Ewiger Kalender vollends in die Spitzenliga der Haute Horlogerie vor. Der ewige Kalender benötigt bis 2499 nahezu keine manuellen Korrekturen und wird komplett über die Krone eingestellt. Mit dem ersten in Schaffhausen entwickelten Manufakturchronographenwerk und dem ewigen Kalender mit grosser Datums- und Monatsanzeige setzten die Uhrmacher 2009 weitere uhrmacherische Glanzpunkte. In der aktuellen Kollektion kehren die Designer zur runden Formensprache der Da Vinci zurück. Auch die doppelrahmige, von einer Fuge durchbrochene Lünette und die beweglichen Bandanstösse mit gebogenen Hörnern knüpfen an den ikonischen Designcode von 1985 an. Kleinere Gehäusedurchmesser, Edelsteine und enganliegende Armbänder machen die Uhrenfamilie auch für Frauen attraktiv.

Jubiläumskollektion

Überarbeitung alter Ikonen und Präsentation neuer Modelle: Die IWC Jubiläumskollektion vereint sie durch ein zeitloses Design und schafft so eine einzigartige, außergewöhnliche Uhrenkollektion.

Da Vinci

Seit fast 50 Jahren verbindet die Da Vinci-Kollektion den Erfindungsreichtum und Entwicklungsdrang der Ingenieure von IWC mit klassischer Ästhetik. Im Jubiläumsjahr heißt die Familie fünf neue Mitglieder willkommen.

005

Aquatimer

Die wachsende Popularität des Tauchsports veranlasste die Manufaktur 1967 zur Einführung der ersten Aquatimer-Uhr. Sie war druckfest 20 bar und verfügte zur Anzeige der Tauchzeit über einen innen liegenden Drehring. 1982 sorgte die erste 200 bar druckfeste Taucheruhr für Furore – die Ocean 2000. Der Erfindergeist der IWC-Ingenieure führte 1999 zur GST Deep One mit mechanischem Tiefenmesser. 2009 brachte IWC eine komplett überarbeitete Aquatimer-Kollektion mit einem griffigen Aussendrehring auf den Markt. In der aktuellen Kollektion gewinnen die Aquatimer-Modelle mit dem neuen Aussen-Innen-Drehring weiter an Funktionalität. Der Mechanismus kombiniert die Vorteile des Innendrehrings mit dem höheren Bedienkomfort eines aussen liegen Drehrings, der sich dank des SafeDive-Systems auch mit Taucherhandschuhen oder kalten Fingern bewegen lässt. Mit noch mehr hauseigenen Manufakturkalibern, dem digitalen ewigen Kalender, dem mechanischen Tiefenmesser und einer sensationellen Druckfestigkeit von 200 bar erklimmt die Uhrenfamilie die höchsten Entwicklungsstufen der Haute Horlogerie.

006

Ingenieur

Schon die erste Ingenieur begeisterte Uhrenliebhaber mit dem beidseitig aufziehenden Pellaton-System, das weitaus effizienter arbeitete als herkömmliche Werke. Hinzu kam der Magnetfeldschutz, der bis heute in der Uhrenfamilie eine wichtige Rolle spielt. Anfang der 1970er-Jahre entwarf Gérald Genta die legendäre Ingenieur SL mit einer modernen, technisch anmutenden Formensprache. Die 2013 komplett überarbeitete Kollektion steht im Zeichen der FORMEL 1; die Werkstoffe – Titanaluminid, Carbon, Keramik und Titan – sind vom Materialrepertoire des Rennsports inspiriert. Technische Highlights sind unter anderem das patentierte Konstantkraft-Tourbillon, die Momentanschaltung und die digitale Grossanzeige des Datums und Monats. Die neuen Ingenieur-Modelle von 2017 orientieren sich wieder stark am Design der 1950er- und 1960er-Jahre. Ausdruck davon ist neben dem schlichten, runden Gehäuse auch das Zifferblatt mit markanten Zeigern und Indizes mit Leuchtelementen.

100 Jahre – 100 Tickets

Mitmachen und eine exklusive Spinnler + Schweizer
Jubiläumsuhr von Oris gewinnen.